Oh, how I loved going to class in shorts and a hoodie. Oh, how I loved hanging out at Finnegan’s Wake until 4am, Oh, how I loved the cheap price of food and drinks. And, oh boy, how I loved waking up on Saturday mornings, covering myself in garnet and gold and making my way around Florida State campus tailgates, listening to country music, only to arrive at a beautiful Doak Campbell Stadium to see the Noles run around that football field. 

Those days are long gone, and for good reason. There was so much love and excitement during those years, but there was one thing that nipped me in the bud that I somehow forgot about!  North Florida has a way of making my allergies soar to the extreme of a painful sinus infection that took days to shake, which is the price I am paying, that somehow seems to be worse with age.

This past weekend, we NYC Noles took the highly anticipated trip down south to see Florida State Seminoles play the Oklahoma Sooners in what  was the most talked about game of the season, thus far. The laughs we shared, the memories created, the old friends we saw, the southern food we ate, the jokes that still go on, the roaring stadium during game time, were all key ingredients for what resulted in this unforgettable “Where were you weekends”.

As much as I love Tallahassee, Florida and the irreplaceable friends and family that I have there, there are a million reasons why NYC is my home. Let’s just say, staying healthy during football season and hailing a cab are among the top 5 reasons. Besides, we Seminoles will always have each other to fly south with for football!

                                  GO NOLES!!!

